Stitching Shibori

I have great admiration for traditional shibori. The skill and precision that goes into each piece is inspiring. That said, I am not sure I have it. Maybe it’s my lack of patience or my short attention span but so far my attempts have been paltry. For the most part I am able to make it work (go Tim Gunn)  into something that works for me.

But I will continue to practice and play. Why not when it’s so fun to play with dye and see what sticks around?

Tonight I’m trying my hand at ori nui, or stitch resist shibori. I used cotton thread because I read somewhere that cotton can tighten when wet and may act as a better resist. Simple straight running stitches across the length of a fat quarter. I had some difficulty pulling and keeping the thread tight as it is knotted. It’s something that probably comes easier with practice.

image

Tonight it goes into the dye and tomorrow—the big reveal.

image

Leave a Reply

